“WARM BABIES” INITIATIVE


Warm Babies InitiativeHello all,

I am starting a new initiative to help a great program for moms and babies in need.  The program is called BabyGoRound and it provides essentials for moms who can’t afford to buy basics for their babies 0-4 years old.  Visit their website for more information.

My way of contributing to this wonderful cause is of course… knitting.  🙂  I will knit accessories, such as hats, mittens and scarves for newborn babies.  My goal is to knit as many as I can until the end of November and then donate all of them to BabyGoRound.

Here is my plan… If you are interested, there are a few ways to help.

Goal:
To knit as many baby accessories as possible until the end of November to donate to BabyGoRound for babies in need of winter accessories.
How it works:

  1. A pattern will be sent to all participating knitters
  2. All knitters knit as many of that pattern as they can
  3. Participants send their knit accessories to BabyGoRound to add to “Warm Babies” initiative

How you can help:

  1. Knit
  2. Donate yarn
  3. Donate money directly to BabyGoRound

Yarn:

  • must be baby-friendly
  • leftover yarn
  • yarn on sale at Michaels or other suppliers
17 responses to ““WARM BABIES” INITIATIVE

  1. I like this idea. I do something similiar by crocheting caps for our schools Cover Our Beavers warm clothes drive. Plus I have found that our PTA appreciates handmade items for their Fall Festival auctions. All of this benefits the community which is what makes crafters great right?

    • Great work!
      You are right. I have been meaning to do something similar for a long time and when I saw the BabyGoRound program, I knew it would be the perfect opportunity. I hope more people join in.

  2. Hey! I’d love to participate. Do you send the pattern? I’m a social service worker in the downtown eastside and I work with women in need. I’ve been looking for something like this to help them with my knitting! Let me know. 🙂

    • Yes, absolutely. Thank you! I can send you the pattern. The first three that I made were crocheted but I find that knitting is better. At the end of November we can put everything that we’ve made together and bring them to BabyGoRound. I’ll send you the pattern later today 🙂
      Feel free to spread the word. The more the better.

    • Hi Raquel,
      Sorry I was late sending you the pattern. It’s been a crazy day.
      I’ve been crocheting the hats but I would like to start knitting them. I think it will be better and they will be warmer. Here’s a pattern that I found that’s really simple and very easy to do:
      http://www.purlbee.com/the-purl-bee/2012/12/11/mollys-sketchbook-super-simple-super-soft-merino-baby-hat.html
      They can be done with or without the pompom. Let me know what you think.

      • Thanks! That’s great! I just have a question. Is that a bulky yarn? Also, I can’t afford such a fancy yarn as the one on the pattern for a lot of hats. Is it ok if I buy acrylic? It’s more affordable! 🙂

      • Absolutely. I use acrylic too. And it’s just leftover from previous projects.
        The picture in the pattern shows bulky but I adjust the gauge for the yarn I have. I use the pattern to get a general idea of what I should be doing 😀 It’s mostly improvisation. The hats are so small (newborn) that it allows for interpretation. 🙂

      • Oh great! I have lots of worsted weight. I’m not very good in adjusting patterns. Do you know for this pattern how many stitches I would have to cast on? I’m sorry to bother you with that! I’m not sure if you are making them with worsted but I thought I’d ask! I can make a swatch and see what I can come up with!

      • You are not bothering me at all 🙂 You have a good point about the pattern. I’ll take a look at the gauge and stitches and send you an update. But I’m thinking it will probably be double the number of stitches and then finish the same way as the pattern. It’s basically knitting a “tube” and then pulling the yarn through to finish the top. Because the hats are so small, it will allow for a quick finish at the top without too much K2tog. Does that make sense?
        Later today when my kids are sleeping I’ll try to write it up and post it here. 🙂
        Thanks for participating! 🙂

      • Thanks! Yeah! I just genet the number of stitches, the rest is super easy! I loved that pattern! 🙂

      • And you know what. I have a lot of clothes that my daughter is not using anymore so I can donate to them as well. 🙂

Reply

