Happy Canadian Thanksgiving!


This year I decided to do a full on Thanksgiving dinner.  We invited friends over and I cooked my first turkey.  🙂  In Bulgaria we don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in the form and meaning that we do in Canada.  And although I’ve been in Canada for over 10 years now, I haven’t really celebrated Thanksgiving.  Now that I have kids though, I think it’s important to set a tradition and have a turkey dinner at home.  It’s important for them to acknowledge both Bulgarian and Canadian holidays.

So last night was a success! 🙂  That’s according to my hubby and all guests.  I hope they weren’t just being nice haha 😆 The empty dishes at the end of the night proved that food was actually… not bad 😉

Here’s the menu:

Turkey – roasted for over 4 hours.  I didn’t do a stuffing because I know that most people who were coming didn’t like it.  So instead I stuffed the turkey with onion, carrots, and celery cut in big pieces.  It turned out great.  I used this recipe as a guidance.

Gravy – which I made in the roasting pan after the turkey was done.  I used this recipe to get a general idea of what to do.

Cranberry sauce – my first ever.  I bought fresh cranberries and made it from scratch.  The easiest thing I’ve ever made and super delicious.  I used this recipe.

Corn Bread – turned out great.  Very moist and super delicious.  I used less sugar than the recipe and it was perfect.  So fluffy and yummy!

Roasted potatoes – very simple.  I pealed the potatoes, cut them in long strips, placed in a roasting pan, sprinkled a bit of olive oil, salt, and pepper.  Added 1/4 cup water to create some steam, covered them with foil and put them in the oven at 400F.  10 min before I took them out, I removed the foil to create a nice crust.  And voila!  So yummy!

Roasted baby carrots – again very simple.  Washed the carrots, placed them in a roasting pan, sprinkled olive oil, salt and pepper.  Covered them with tin foil and placed in the over at 400F.  Actually the potatoes and carrots were roasting together.  Then 10 min before I took them out, I removed the foil to give them a crust.

Steamed beets – pealed the beets and placed them in a steamer over a pan with a little boiling water at the bottom.  I like the beets firm so I steamed them until my fork was able to go in but not break them.

For desert I made Madeleines but because I don’t have a baking pan with the distinct shape of madeleines, I just used cupcake liners and made cupcakes instead.  I know it’s not a typical thing to make for Thanksgiving but I know everyone loved them.

I also made a simple pear cake – a recipe from my mom:

1 1/2 cups sugar
12 tbsp vegetable oil (I use sunflower oil)
3 eggs
1 tsp baking soda
5-6 pears (grated, not pealed)
1 tsp cinnamon (added to the grated pears)

Method: Mix the sugar, oil and eggs.  Separately mix the flour and baking soda and add to the eggs mixture.  Mix until smooth.  Fold in the pears.  Pour batter in a pan (5″x9″) – mine looks similar to this one.  Bake at 350-370F for about 40 min or until a toothpick comes out clean.  That’s it!
For last night’s dinner I made cream cheese frosting for the cake – 1 package cream cheese, 1 cup confectioners sugar, 1 table spoon coconut oil (or 1 tsp vanila)  I made the cake the day before and put the frosting on in the next day before the dinner.  That way it stayed fresh and fluffy for a good presentation.

Oh did I mention that my friend brought a ham cooked with pineapple, quinoa salad, yams, and humous?  Yes, we had THAT much food 😀  Crazy!  But it’s good to have a full house to help eat it all. 🙂

15 responses to “Happy Canadian Thanksgiving!

    • Thank you! 🙂 Yes, I was in the zone cooking the day before and the day of Thanksgiving. The biggest reward was that food actually got eaten and there weren’t that many leftovers 😆

Reply

