Wool is classic


I have been trying to work on a set for a newborn baby.  I wanted it to be warm but soft and natural wool seemed the best option.  I love the way it looks in every project – whether it’s a sweater or a cowl, wool is classic.  My mom always says that if you want to be warm, wear wool; stay away from cotton or synthetics. 🙂

I used Lion Brand Fisherman’s Wool in Light Cream: one of my favourite yarns – pure virgin wool with natural oils. I started the set with a pair of booties and as it was close to 40*C (~104*F) working with wool was not my preference at the time. 😀  So I decided to wait a little.  Now the baby is already 4 months old 😆 and I went back to the project and finished it yesterday.  Naturally, I made everything bigger.  The booties I had already made bigger, anticipating a delay 😀  I made a hat and a cowl (knit-as-you-go patterns).

I really wanted to make a cowl because I know how convenient it is when you have a little baby.  I had made one for my son (picture below) when he was just starting to walk and I loved it: no knots, lightweight, stays put, close to his neck, etc. etc.  I am going to make one for my youngest for this winter too.

cowl

11 responses to “Wool is classic

    • Thank you 🙂
      I really like this yarn. It’s so soft but yet strong. The cowl I knit for my son last year has been washed 100 times and the wool hasn’t changed a bit. It’s one of my favourites for sure.

  1. Pingback: Continuing the Wool Journey | Funky Air Bear·

Reply

