Custard dessert


When I was a kid, I was famous for not eating anything.  So my mom was on a quest to find something… anything that I would try.  So she used to make me this custard desert which I loved… meaning I would take a bite of. 😆 Now I am on a quest of my own.  The boys loved it… lucky me!  I modernized it a little – maple syrup instead of white sugar, shredded coconut and some Christmas sprinkles 😀

So here’s the recipe.  It’s very easy with just a few ingredients but the most important part is… stirring.  You have to stir constantly to avoid lumps.  Just remember that 🙂

Ingredients

1 l milk (I used 2% but you can use any kind of milk)
2 eggs
8 tbsp flour (I used unbleached all-purpose flour, but you can also try whole wheat, although I haven’t tried it myself)
1 cup sugar (depending on your taste; I used maple syrup instead but you can go with any sweetener you like and as much as you like)
1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

In a medium pot place 3/4 of the milk (750g) and put on the stove to boil over medium heat.  Make sure you are close by to watch it so it doesn’t overflow.  In a bowl beat the 2 eggs, add the remaining 1/4 milk (150g), and the flour.  Mix until smooth.  Make sure the mixture isn’t lumpy.  I find that a wire beater does a great job.  When the milk in the pot is boiling or close to it, use a ladle to transfer some of it into the egg mixture – slowly while stirring vigorously.  Transfer some more and never stop stirring.  Transferring some of the hot milk into the cool egg mixture while stirring aims at balancing the temperature of the egg mixture and “thinning it out” before you add it to the remaining hot milk.  This method really helps the smoothness of the custard.   (I even use it when I make gravy 😉 ) When the mixture is thin and warm enough, pour it into the remaining hot milk.  Set the stove on low to medium heat and keep stirring.  Do Not Stop Stirring. 🙂  You may have to turn the heat down or up depending on how fast the mixture starts thickening.  Keep stirring until it’s thick enough to your taste.  I usually leave it a bit runny because once you take it off the heat it keep on “cooking” and thickening.  It also thickens even more while cooking in the service bowls.  Once it’s as thick as you want it to be, turn the heat off and move the pot to the side.

Prepare serving bowls that you would like to pour it into.  When I make this for the kids for a snack I just use regular bowls.  If I want to make it for company, I use my fancy bowls 🙂  Now at this point the variations are countless.  Sometimes I put some berries on the bottom of the bowls and pour the custard on top.  Today I put some sliced almonds on the bottom.  You don’t have to add anything to the bottom, you can just have it plain.  Use your imagination for toppings too.  I sprinkled some shredded coconut and Christmas sprinkles today.  But you create a masterpiece with fruit, nuts, raisins, etc.  Again, the options are endless.  Or you can just leave it plain and enjoy the flavours 🙂

Bon Apetit!

8 responses to “Custard dessert

    • I’m with you on this one. There’s so much sugar in everything over the holidays. It’s nice to have a break 🙂 The maole syrup really complements the custard.

Reply

