Shaking it up


I added a Bootcamp to my training.  I am trying to shake it up a little as running alone won’t do it.  And I realized that even more last night when after my first bootcamp session, I could barely move or control my legs and arms LOL

Working to strengthen my core and become stronger overall will be invaluable on race day.  Besides mixing up a routine is great for “waking up” you body to new challenges.

IMG_8846I will still continue with my running routine and try to increase the distance of my route.  Pushing a double stroller adds to the weight and strength aspect of running, which I really like.  I feel so fast and light when I don’t have the kids and stroller with me 😀  So it definitely helps.  Speaking of the stroller.  I wanted to make a cover to protect the part where my kids’ shoes touch the fabric.  It’s really hard to clean because I need to strip the whole double seat just to wash that lower part.  So I made a cover yesterday which is easily washed and slipped on and off.  I used a lined waterproof fabric and added some reflector tape to make us visible on my evening runs.  It didn’t turn out perfectly but it will do the job 😀

I also discovered a favourite lunch/dinner/any time meal that I’ve been making now for a couple of days in a row.  I was inspired by a recipe I saw on Pinterest a while back.  What I did was this:

1 head of cauliflower (cut into slices)
2 Tomatos
1 Green pepper
2 leaves Kale
Cheese of your choice for topping, grated (you can skip this; I used old cheddar cheese)
Olive oil
Balsamic vinegar

I lined a baking sheet (you can even use a cookie sheet) with foil.  Place the slices of cauliflower on it.  If you have loose pieces don’t worry.  Put them all in on the baking sheet.  Sprinkle with some olive oil.

In a bowl place shopped tomatoes, green pepper and kale.  At this point you can add as much Balsamic vinegar as you like.  I sprinkled mine over the “patties” before I put them in the oven.  Mix everything together.  Using a spoon, place some of the mixture over the cauliflower.  Again, if some of it fall on the baking sheet, leave it there.  It really doesn’t matter.  Top with the grated cheese.  Sprinkle with the Balsamic vinegar if you haven’t added it to the tomato mixture before.

Place in over and bake at 375*F for about 20-30 min.  How long you roast it for is up to you.  I like some crunch to my veggies so I don’t let them get too soft.

IMPORTANT: Watch the kale.  It can burn quite easily.  One tip is to leave the kale out of the tomato mixture and put the whole leaves just around the cauliflower directly on the baking sheet.  Sprinkle with olive oil.  While the cauliflower is roasting, you will get perfectly crispy kale chips to have with your meal (as a snack later).  Again, watch the kale closely because it can burn quickly.  If the kale is ready before the cauliflower, take it out and continue roasting the rest.  The kale ships become extra crispy as they cool down.

The variations of this meal are endless.  You can use any type of veggies that you have in your fridge.  The other day I didn’t have cauliflower so I used a couple of yellow peppers halved to serve as little bowls.  I also added 1/2 a yellow onion chopped into the mixture. It was delicious. 🙂

2 responses to “Shaking it up

    • Thank you. I do have busy days but exercise really helps me clear my mind and helps me sleep better. It’s one of those things that the more you do it, the better you feel overall (although your muscles are so sore you can barely walk) LOL if that makes any sense at all lol

Reply

