Are you afraid of the rain?


IMG_9218It’s bootcamp Saturday!

I made it!  I was there at 8am and did 30min cardio and 30min core.  I felt great.  But I also realized something else… morning workouts are not for me.  No matter how much I try, I am just not a morning person.  Especially having to wake up 3-4 times during the night for my kids.  I never have more than 4 hours of sleep at a time.  Anyway… I always work out best in the evening.  I feel stronger and more motivated.  BUT…. having said that, I am in a situation where I have to take what I can get.  Every time my fiance comes home earlier or leaves for work later, I have to use the opportunity to work out without my kids.  I love my kids, but when we are at the park, I can’t just take off for a sprint to the next tree… lol

On top of working out in the morning, I had to work out in the rain today.  Now that’s a whole different level of pleasure.  And I am not being sarcastic here.  I love the rain.  I love being outside and feeling it on my face.  I have always been surprised by people saying that it rains A LOT on the West Coast.  Let me tell you something… it hasn’t rained here for the past 6 weeks – we’ve had spring-like weather with trees blossoming, flowers blooming, warm breezes in the evenings, and sunshine all day.  Now… the past couple of days we’ve had a rainfall warning for Metro Vancouver but hey, if we have 2-3 days of pouring rain without stopping and almost 2 months of spring without a drop of rain… I’m in. LOL

Seriously though, I love the rain.  I am a ski instructor on one of our local mountains and I’ve taught skiing in pouring rain where I could feel the water all the way to my stomach through my instructor jacket.  I have had to peel my clothes off at the end of the day because they were so wet they stuck together.  I taught a class in hail one day.  But you know what we always tell our new skiers?  If you are here in the rain learning how to ski and you’re not giving up… you are a skier already no matter if you just strapped those skis on for the very first time in your life.  😀 Beating the elements is one of the best rewards especially when you are learning a new skill.  You know that at least mentally and emotionally, you are in par with the pros.  And that’s where motivation comes from.

5220297452_1f9da8886e_b-1When I was doing my ski instructor course, it was 4 days long.  And all 4 days it poured!  I mean it didn’t stop for a minute.  It was spring skiing so basically warm and slushy plus buckets of water being poured down from the skies… It was one of the best experiences I’ve had.  I loved it.  I wore my 10-year-old North Face jacket the whole time.  The outside didn’t even have time to dry overnight.  But I was amazed at how dry it was on the inside.  These 4 days in the rain on the mountain I stayed dry overall because of my North Face Gore-Tex jacket.  The only spots that were wet were around the neck because the water was coming down my skin, and around my wrists because I took off and put on my ski gloves a few times so water leaked down my sleeves.  I thought of writing a letter to North Face to let them know what a great technology they have.  I am serious.  I was so impressed.  Ever since that course, I always buy Gore-Tex for skiing.

So…  when my trainer asked me this morning if I minded the rain, I smiled and said “no”.  It was just a drizzle anyway… 😉

If you had a choice, would you rather workout in the mornings or would you workout in the rain?

6 responses to “Are you afraid of the rain?

  1. I love love love running in the rain! I ran my half marathon in the rain and it was perfect. I would rather run in the rain than in the sun. I just love working out- no matter the time of day 🙂

    • Nice!! It’s good to hear I am not alone 😀 I’d rather run in the rain than in the sun. I like being on the cooler side than the hotter 🙂

  2. Having young ones is so hard. I totally empathise on the sleep thing. There were times in the past 2 years when my exhaustion has just made running or training so much harder… But like you I just kept on digging deep! All stages pass (and new ones emerge!) but youre doing an epic job. Rain or shine – keep pushing forward.

Reply

