I’m in (good) trouble


Last night I went to a kick-off event for the Rock N Roll Marathon in Vancouver in October.  I had every intention to sign up for the 10k run and I felt comfortable thinking about it.  I know I can run 10k and I’m not obsessed with speed so I thought it might be a good goal to keep me motivated throughout summer.

When I got to the place, the energy and the happy people around me started making me think that if I do Seek the Peak in June (16km which include the crazy Grouse Grind) then it doesn’t make sense to go back to running 10km.  In my mind, 10km seemed like a regression especially if I end up finishing Seek the Peak… and especially if I do the Vancouver Sun Run (10km).  Right?! 😀  After speaking with a few pumped up people and got sucked into the upbeat energy… I ended up signing up for a half marathon.  My first.  Ever.

I left the place thinking positive thoughts and smiling to myself.  As I got into my car I realized what I had just done.  It’s a half marathon.  I just signed up to run almost 22km in October.  What?!?! Umm ok then!!

I’d better get to work! 😀

PS.  I am including some photos from my walk with the kids today, when I gave the half marathon even more thought and I got even more scared… but good scared 😉

31 responses to “I’m in (good) trouble

  1. You can do it! Just make sure you set up a running schedule and stick with it. You’ll surprise yourself 🙂

  2. First half marathon???? Ohhhhh, I am so excited for you!!! Not to belittle the event, but I would consider 13 flat miles easier than 10 hilly miles. You’ve got this in the bag. 🙂

    • Thank you so much for the encouragement! 😀 I feel very excited and I know I have a long way to go with my training but at least now I have no excuses 😀 haha

  3. Don’t have any doubts, a half marathon is a great distance and you wont regret a thing. The training never gets to the point where it takes too much time away from normal life. You’ll do it, feel brilliant and be hooked I bet!

    • Thank you! I appreciate your nice words. I am really excited and I hope I can finish it LOL I am sure I will be hooked. Once I’ve tasted the experience, I’ll definitely want to do more 😀

      • You’ll be surprised how much the other runners will motivate you and the adrenaline on the day. My advice is to do more hill training than you’d fancy, because it makes the flats a breeze on the day. Best of luck. Keep up the updates xx

      • Thank you! That’s a great piece of advice. I so happen to love hills 😀 Actually most of my runs include hills because I live in a neighbourhood on a mountain. So I have no choice 😀
        Thanks! 🙂

      • I know its tough. when I did my first 6 kilometers it was scary as hell. I use a program called Endomondo, when I walk. U can use for running. my mate in Utah coaches me, I’m in Australia. just take in a k at a time. you will get there.

      • That’s what I am trying to do too. I try to look at the smaller goals, not the big picture. I know that as long as I keep doing what I am doing and I am persistent, the results will eventually come. But sometimes when you don’t see an improvement immediately, it can be quite discouraging 😀 Oh well…

      • Yes, i totally agree. But eventully before you know it the kilometers will increase. In another life, i was an ice skater, my Coach reminded me that your training your body to do certain things, it will remember them, you have to let your body to what its trained to do.

  4. Don’t panic, you’ve got plenty of time to build your distance. Sign up for a training program and follow it and you will do great. I’ve used the runkeeper app for years (wish I had used it recently – must get back to running) and there are free training programs within it. Good luck and at least it’s summer training!!!

    • Thank you for the reassurance. There are days when I do need to hear this 🙂 My running clinic starts next week actually. I look forward to it. I also start my soccer camp so that will be great.
      I love RunKeeper too. I use it on every run. It gives me a perspective of what I’m doing and how I’m progressing.
      You’re right – it’s summer training! 😀 Which also means the day is longer and I can even go for a run late in the evenings. 🙂
      Have fun running too 😀

Reply

