Sunny weekend


I have been slacking off with my training and diet big time… but at least I’ve been having fun 😀  Seriously, I need to get back to it.  Tonight I have soccer so that will get me back to the right set of mind.

We had a few sleepless nights with my little ones and it just made it impossible to get up at 7am on Saturday to go to my bootcamp.  My body, brain and heart were sleeping.  I find that this is the hardest part of sticking to a workout routine – lack of sleep.

I do feel refreshed today though because my fiance had yesterday off (first day off since…. a very long time) and I had a chance to relax a bit.  We met friends at a park where we took the kids to ride a miniature train (my oldest is obsessed with trains) and then had a BBQ at the park.  Yes, I ate mostly zucchini (roasted with just a sprinkle of olive oil, salt & pepper) with a yogurt dip (1 cup plain 3.5% yogurt, 1 garlic clove pressed or more if you like, 1 tsp dried or fresh basil, 1 tsp fresh rosemary – mix together and pour over roasted zucchini – yumm!), quinoa salad and roasted peppers.  And an Italian sausage… LOL  Then for dessert I had made avocado chocolate pudding.  So that was kind of a healthy lunch  I guess 😉  And we played and ran with the kids in the sun.  Which was amazing because we hadn’t done that for a long time.  We all loved it.

On days like that, you realize that you always have somewhere to go and something to do and you don’t stop to actually enjoy life.  I mean I go out with the kids all the time, but it’s usually to run errands, go for a run, do the shopping, buy gifts for birthday parties, etc… there’s always something.  We (almost) never pack and go to a park to spend the day and relax.  Yesterday made all the difference.  And having all of us there including my super hard working fiance was just the tip of the iceberg 🙂

IMG_9596I am also working on a cardigan (wait for it!….) FOR MYSELF! 😀 haha  It’s been a while since I’ve knitted something for me.  So I decided to try this very simple pattern which I will share once the cardi is done.  Believe it or not, I didn’t buy more yarn for that project – I used yarn from my stash.  Am I being good or what?! 😀

How was your weekend?

6 responses to “Sunny weekend

    • Ahh yes lol that would be interesting to try. The avocado pudding is made with cocoa powder so it doesn’t have the typical chocolate taste. They really complement each other. It’s very delicious 🙂

  1. Glad you enjoyed spending time with your fiancé and children😀 Reading your post makes me feel nostalgic about our our park trips when my children were little. My youngest (21) popped home for a surprise visit at the weekend so enjoyed meal with him and his girlfriend. Just enjoy my children in a different way now.

    • That’s wonderful! Every stage is beautiful. Kids grow and life changes but it’s always rewarding. 🙂 Aren’t surprise visits the best? 🙂

Reply

