What is the Whole30 program?


I’ve decided it’s time to change the way I eat significantly.  I’ve been thinking about for a really long time and I’ve done some big changes in what I eat, but I don’t feel like it’s enough.  I end up having my “unhealthy” days when I eat junk foods and then feeling not only guilty, but uncomfortable in my own body.  I know it’s a bad way of eating and I makes me feel bad (low energy, mood swings, etc.) but I still do it.  So something has to change.

Screen Shot 2015-07-29 at 2.09.13 PM

As I was browsing through millions of diets and meal plans, I came across the Whole30 program.  I started reading the rules and I really liked what I saw.  Basically you eat all the nutrients and everything you like except: grains, dairy, junk and processed foods.  I thought that it was the perfect program for me because it doesn’t deprive me of crucial foods and it gives me the energy to train for my events.  I mean let’s face it… any “diet” forbids so many foods that are actually good for you (such as heathy oils, certain fruits and veggies) as well some brutal calorie counting which always ends up frustrating.  I have counted calories before and I did lose weight but I didn’t consume healthy foods all the time.  As long I didn’t exceed my calories for the day I still had a regular brownie or a chocolate chip cookie.  I felt great when at the end of the day I stayed within my calorie intake, but the amount of sugar, artificial colours, etc. was going through the roof.

So with the Whole30 program I feel that I can stop counting my calories and focus on eating WHOLESOME foods.  As long as they are not processed, prepared without sugary sauces and and preservatives, it’s good to eat.  So having a clean, hormone-free, grilled piece of chicken with a side of green salad tossed in vinegar and a few drops of olive oil is the perfect lunch (or dinner).  A fruit cup with crushed walnuts and a cup of tea or black coffee is a great breakfast.  How about a cup of cauliflower and kale slowcooker stew full of veggies and made with fresh tomatoes (instead of canned)?  Yumm!

When you think about it, it isn’t that hard to do.  The biggest challenges for me during these 30 days would be:

  •  added sugar
    When I say added sugar, I don’t mean just white sugar.  I have excluded that from my pantry a long time ago.  The program doesn’t allow any kind of added sweetness – honey, maple syrup, molasses, etc.
  •  dairy
    I love cheese.  So this will be a difficult thing to do.  But the program doesn’t allow any kind of dairy for 30 days.
  •  bread
    I love bread.  I love making it and I love eating it.  I love cake 😉 in any shape of form.  So the no-grain rule will definitely be a challenge for me.  But hey, it’s only 30 days.

So wish me luck.  I’ll keep you posted on my progress 😉

18 responses to “What is the Whole30 program?

  1. Can’t recommend this enough…it makes you feel amazing, physically and mentally! 🙂 Many people don’t go back, I’m two years in (to paleo, only slightly different) and will never touch grains, dairy, sugar or processed foods again…I think the hardest is learning how to cook differently, without ‘fillers’ like bread or pasta, and adapting to new ingredients like coconut products…but you get the hang of it after a while, I made paleo Black Forest cake for my dad’s birthday today 🙂 good luck, look forward to seeing your progress! 🙂

    • Thank you so much! Your comment means so much. Especially now that I am in the planning stage. I want to get everything organized first so I don’t have excuses for not following the program 🙂 I have heard that a lot of people just continue with it as a way of life…just as you said you did. So if I can stick with it after the 30 days, I’d be super happy. I don’t think it will be too difficult 🙂 Thank you once again for your words of support. Please do share any favourite recipes you have. ❤

      • She does a lot of prep work one night a week (grilling chicken, chopping vegetables) so that it is easy to make quick meals the rest of the week and she is less tempted to cheat. I think giving up wine was the hardest thing for her. 🙂

      • LOL That sounds like a great plan. I should do the same.
        For me, it will be chocolate. I will really miss it. Otherwise, I don’t drink a drop of alcohol so this will be the easy part 😀

  2. Good for you! I’ve decided to do this too, starting in a couple weeks. I’ve been in such poor health since the baby was born that I feel like I need to do something. I’ve already cut out dairy, junk food and most sugar because of GI problems so I figured why not go the rest of the way!

    • I’m sorry to hear you haven’t been feeling 100%. I am sure you’ll get back on track very quickly. How’s baby doing? 😀 How does your daughter like having a sibling? It must be so exciting watching them interact. And as baby grows, it will be even more exciting. My favourite part of the day is listening to my boys “chatting” in baby language while playing together. It’s amazing how well they understand each other haha And I have no clue what they are talking about. As long as they seem to agree LOL
      Btw, let me know how your nutrition changes go. Are you craving anything specific?

      • Thanks for such a nice note! Fortunately I’m the only one that’s been in poor health. As much as it sucks, I’d rather it be me than my daughters! Baby Ollie is doing well and Big sister Ruby is adjusting well. Ollie’s still a bit young for them to interact really… I’m looking forward to seeing that unfold as she gets older. I’m going to try and blog about the Whole30 when we get there. My biggest weakness will be sugar definitely. I love my desserts! I do eat whole grains now but I don’t expect that will be super hard to give up. Although, you never know. Wine would be tough too if I wasn’t already alcohol-free for nursing. Looking forward to hearing more about how yours goes too!

      • I absolutely hear you about the sweets. I am a chocolate addict haha And cake addict. And anything pastry. And baclava addict… oh my… 😀
        So far it’s not that bad actually. I expected it to be more difficult. Last time I went sugar-free for a month I went through a real withdrawal. It was crazy to realize how much I was really… “addicted” to sugar. This time around, it seems easier. It’s probably because I have switched to natural sweeteners when I bake at home. I use honey and maple syrup only as well as whole wheat flour. So this is what’s probably helping me this time. It does make a difference. It’s amazing. You only read about these things and then when you experience it, you think “WOW”, this stuff is real. haha 😀
        Both Ollie and Ruby are super cute! You are one lucky mama, and they are lucky to have you too. Enjoy every precious second of it 😀 They grow way too fast. 😀

      • OMG!! Chocolate cake!!! YES!!! I did a month sugar free a year or so ago and that was super hard. I don’t expect it to be any easier on me now, but we’ll see. Maybe it will since I’ve had to cute out a lot of desserts already for my GI issues.

      • You’ll be successful. You can do it 🙂
        See, alcohol is no problem for me because I don’t drink a drop of it. So that was not an issue. And hopefully I win the battle with the sweets haha

  3. Pingback: Gorgeous fall | Funky Air Bear·

  4. Pingback: Bulgarian Easter, hiking, and spring in full bloom | Funky Air Bear·

Reply

