Whole30: Day 6


Today I went for a beautiful walk with my boys and another mama and her boys.  We went to Colony Farm Regional Park.  Originally the farm was built in order to produce food for a local psychiatric hospital and a nearby prison.  The prison does not exist any more and the supply of food for the hospital does not rely on the farm any longer.  So the place is now a beautiful park with one of the largest community gardens in the area.  It’s also a bird watcher’s paradise with the Coquitlam river slicing the park in two – the Coquitlam side and the Port Coquitlam side.  It’s so peaceful and yet, it’s in the middle of the city.  The park is also home of the Kwikwetlem First Nation.

The park’s flat gravel trails are about 9km long and perfect for running.  So I do look forward to an opportunity to try them 🙂

I also noticed today that going out the kids for more than 2 hours and away from home, makes it a bit difficult to plan for my meals from the Whole30 program.  Bringing pretzels doesn’t cut it for me now that I have excluded grains from my menu.  😀  They boys love them though.  So today I cut watermelon in a container and I brought blueberries in another.  I didn’t end up eating anything because I was too busy trying to keep the boys away from the river banks 😀 But it made me think about snacks and meals on the go.  I need more ideas so please share any tips you have. 😀

Here’s today’s menu:

Breakfast

  • Smoothie – 1/3 cup raw cashews, 1 kiwi, 1/4 cup blueberries, 1 tbsp chia seeds, 1 tsp flax seed, 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup of coffee with almond milk

Lunch

  • Leftover beef stew
  • Desert: Coconut cashew bark, watermelon, blueberries
  • Earl Grey Tea

Dinner

  • Oven roasted chicken thighs (salt & pepper) + a big salad (Spinach, iceberg lettuce, cherry tomatoes, a yellow bell pepper, cucumber, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, Frank’s Red Hot sauce)
  • Desert: Oven roasted apples with fresh lemon juice, nuts & dried cranberries (+ a pinch of nutmeg & cinnamon) (yum!)

Workout of the day – Day 2 of Ab Challenge

20 V-Ups
30 Mountain Climbers
40 Side Jackknives
30 Burpees
20 second Side Plank

4 responses to “Whole30: Day 6

Reply

