Whole30: Day 8


It’s amazing how you develop (or return to) the original taste of food when you give up all the additives and fillers.  When I eat something I can now actually taste the flavour, I can smell the aromas, and I’m much more sensitive to different tastes.  I love it!  When I fast for Easter and Christmas (vegan for 40 days before the big holidays) and I return to regular food, everything seems so exaggerated and rich… I can taste a tiny bit of butter or taste the milk and eggs in a cake.  It’s amazing how sensitive my palette becomes.

Today was a busy day as we had to go pick up the cakes and cupcakes for my sons’ double birthday party on Sunday.  My sons were born 1 year 10 days apart 😀 So we are celebrating their 2nd and 3rd birthday on the same day.  Needless to say, my eating today was on the go and a bit sporadic 😀  But I managed to keep up with the program.

Here’s my menu for today:

Breakfast

  • 1 cup of coffee with almond milk
  • 4 Raw Vegan Cookies (yes, I made another batch of these – yum!)

Lunch

  • A few slices of prosciutto and a boiled egg
  • A banana

Early Dinner (it was more of a late lunch)

  • A big salad: spinach, shredded cabbage, cucumber, cherry tomatoes, green onions, olive oil, prosciutto, balsamic vinegar

“Later” Dinner 😀

  • Portobello mushroom topped with sautéed onion, garlic, cherry tomatoes, olive oil, balsamic vinegar
  • Raw Vegan Cookies
  • Fresh figs

IMG_1855I don’t know if you have ever tried fresh figs, but they are fantastic!  I bought a whole case the other day at the grocery store.  When I was a kid my parents used to take me to this town in Bulgaria where we would rent rooms in someone’s house and have a mini-vacation.  All houses had fig trees in their yards and we would eat the figs straight from the tree.  When I saw that case of figs in the store I just had to buy it 😀  They are soooo good!

Another super yummy and flavourful thing I had today was tea picked by my mom in Bulgaria.  She brought it over when they were visiting.  I made some today and the whole house smelled like a mountain meadow right from the Balkans.  It’s amazing how smells and flavours can bring out memories and make you feel at home again.

2 responses to “Whole30: Day 8

  1. Good for you keeping it up over a hectic day! fresh figs don’t show up here very often, usually in a small container of about 6. Six figs son’t last very long around me as I usually need to eat one (or two) as I’m unpacking the groceries.

Reply

