Whole30: Day 10


Today was probably the day I felt the most hungry.  I don’t know why but I felt like eating everything in front of me 😀  I also felt very thirsty.  I think it’s because yesterday I didn’t drink enough water and today my body is compensating.

Here’s my menu today:

Breakfast

IMG_1908Lunch

  • Omelette with an orange bell pepper, cherry tomatoes, and a big leaf of kale cooked in a drizzle of coconut oil
  • Desert: Smoothie with fresh figs, almond milk, and few drops of vanilla extract (yum!)

Dinner

  • A bowl of chicken soup – see recipe below.  I was actually quite happy with the way it turned out.  I used home made bone broth that I had made a couple of weeks ago and froze it for later. Yum!

IMG_1910Chicken Soup

(this is how I made it, but variations are endless)

  • 2 pieces chicken breast (the white meat)
  • 2 carrots, cut in circles
  • 1 sweet onion, cut in cubes
  • 2 cloves garlic, sliced
  • 2 sticks celery, sliced
  • 1 sweet potato (medium; I had a huge one so I only used about 1/3 of it)
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 6 cups (or less or more depending on your pot and how much soup you want to make) bone broth (or the chicken broth you just made, or any other broth, or even just hot water; try to go for home-made or organic)
  • Parsley
  • Salt (to taste)
  • Savoury
  • Dry basil

Boil the chicken in water with no salt until it is done.  Take it out and pull the meat into small pieces.  Do not throw away the broth – you are going to use it in the soup.  Or if you prefer to use bone or another kind of broth (or hot water), pour the chicken broth into a freezer-friendly container and freeze for a different soup or meal. 😉

Saute onion and garlic in the olive oil on the bottom of your soup pot.  When they are transparent add the carrots and celery and continue to saute.  When the carrots start to soften and you hear that veggies are starting to fry (you know that sound of drier veggies on the bottom of your pot 🙂 ) add 1 cup of the broth (or hot water).  This will “lift” the flavours from the bottom of the pot. (A little trick my  mom taught me)  You never add cold water to already hot veggies or meat because it “washes” the flavour away, or it slows down and even stops the cooking process for a few minutes before it can boil up again.  So always add hot boiling water to hot boiling/sautéing veggies or meat.  It keeps the cooking process going and keep the flavours in. (Another trick my mom taught me)

After you add the cup of broth and you let the veggies simmer for a few minutes, pour the rest of the broth in the pot.  Add as salt to your taste.  Add the sweet potato and let simmer for a few minutes.  Remember, your chicken is ready so it doesn’t need time to boil in the soup for too long.  When the sweet potato is ready, add the chicken and parsley.  After 5 minutes turn the burner off and add the savoury and dry basil.  Put the lid on and let it “steep” 😀

Serve hot.  Bon apetit! 🙂

10 responses to “Whole30: Day 10

    • YES! That’s the best way to do it. I do that too and I am so happy my fiance thinks that way too. I have some friends who wouldn’t even know what to do with broth let alone make their own 😀 But we love it in our house.

  1. Pingback: Whole30: Day 11 | Funky Air Bear·

  2. Pingback: Whole30: Day 12 | Funky Air Bear·

Reply

