Whole30: Day 13


2015-08-13 20.19.53One thing I’ve noticed these days is I am focusing too much on food and nutrition and I keep forgetting to drink water. I get to a point where I can’t even remember when was the last time I had a glass of water. It’s almost necessary to set my alarm to remind me to drink water. I have tea and coffee throughout the day but I still feel dehydrated sometimes. This evening I took my kids to the running track and I brought a bottle of water. I drank it so quickly that it made me realize that I hadn’t had water all day. (not including coffee) When we got home I had 3 more glasses. I was so thirsty.

The other crazy thing is that I haven’t been too motivated to exercise these days. I blame it on the heat (it’s been really hot here for the past few weeks) but it’s very unusual for me. Another reason might be the lack of sleep. I still get up at least 4 times at night because of my little one – he is having a hard time sleeping through the night. I am looking forward to cooler temperatures and (yes, I said it) rain. It’s been so dry this summer. We have water restrictions throughout BC and over 200 fires still. And I am a winter person – I’d rather be able to put on an extra sweater to warm up than not being able to cool down. πŸ˜€ Oh well… we can’t control the weather… yet! πŸ˜€

Here’s my menu for today:

Breakfast

  • 2 cups coffee with almond milk (I so needed to wake up this morning)
  • A handful of Trail mix

Lunch (a repeat ofΒ yesterday’s dinner)

Dinner

  • Trail Mix
  • Almost a litre of water (!)
6 responses to “Whole30: Day 13

  1. I have such a hard time drinking enough water too. It sort of feels like a chore to me. I’d much rather a Coke. Ha! I hope this isn’t rude of me to ask, but do you think the lack of energy could be from not eating enough? I know everyone’s bodies need different things so I shouldn’t judge, but I thought maybe I’d mention that my Whole30 meal plan includes a lot more food. Please feel free to ignore me if I’m off base!

    • You are not off base at all! I’ve been wondering about this myself. And thank you for asking these questions.

      The thing is, I feel full. I really eat as much as I want. I am not restricting my portions at all. And my goal with the Whole30 program was to kick my sugar habits and not to lose weight. I mean it would be a bonus if I lose 5-6 lbs of my remaining baby weight in the mean time. But it’s really not my main goal. What I find is that I eat until I am full. And the funny thing is that when I eat sugar and bread, I actually have more cravings and want to eat more. But now… I’m just trying to listen to my body and go with it.

      The other thing is, it’s not that I am low on energy. But rather, not motivated to work out haha Does that make sense? I think it’s more mental than physical. I’m in a strange “I don’t feel like it” phase πŸ˜€ I go though these every once in a while. And dehydration might have something to do with it. My theory is that because I forget to drink water, my body is automatically sending signals to reduce physical activity so it can preserve fluids. Again, that’s just my theory haha πŸ˜€

      Did you start the Whole30? How are you feeling? Is there something in particular you feel like it’s missing?

  2. I can relate to so much of this. I certainly wouldn’t mind losing weight, but its not my primary goal. I frequently feel hungry now so I’m planning on eating plenty. But I have wondered about the affect of sugar on appetite. Like maybe I won’t be hungry all the time if my body adjusts to fueling with fat, instead of relying on MORE SUGAR!!! Who knows, maybe I’ll find I don’t need to eat as much as I think I will. I definitely agree with the eat until full approach.

    I’m starting on Monday. I have a couple parties tomorrow so I’ll get to partake and then Sunday will be shopping and prep! Aaahhh! I’m just finalizing the meal plan and making a grocery list now. I peer pressurized my husband into doing it with me, which is AWESOME but also requires a lot more planning.

    • Way to go convincing your husband to do it with you! πŸ™‚ I can never do that with my fiance. He likes his Coke and Red Bull (yuk!) way too much. LOL I get nauseous just at the smell of energy drinks let alone have them. And I stopped drinking pop when I was in high school. So that’s really the easy part for me to give up. πŸ˜€ Your hubby is a brave man! Way to go!

      I am quite surprised about having a “natural” limit of how much food I can eat. Sometimes my salads are really big. I mean a salad you would normally make for 4 people is my entire lunch. haha So I guess I do get my calories that way. I found the shopping list from the Whole30 website very helpful when I was planning my program.
      http://whole30.com/downloads/book-shopping-list.pdf

      And also the Guide to Grocery Shopping:
      http://whole30.com/downloads/whole30-grocery.pdf

      The Meal Template is also helpful:
      http://whole30.com/downloads/whole30-meal-planning.pdf

      You’ve probably already seen all these. The 3 above in particular are a great help to me personally. They also give me ideas about how to add variety in my meals. Sometimes when I am craving something and I’m too frustrated that I can’t have it, I avoid further frustration if I can try something new or if there’s something ready for me to just grab and eat instead of the unhealthy food I’m craving. So the lists are a good aid for sure. πŸ™‚

      My guess is, you’re going to enjoy it. πŸ™‚

      • Thanks! I went ahead and bought the book. Glad I did because it’s given me a more thorough understanding of the program. Btw- I’m really enjoying your posts. Wish I had the time and motivation to blog about it all the way through… I’m hoping to put something up once a week. But we shall see… I might be too busy chopping and cooking!

      • LOL Buying the book is definitely great. I didn’t buy it but I have decided that if I decide to continue with it after the 30 days, I’ll buy it πŸ˜€
        Thank you for reading my posts. They have turned into my thing to do after the kids are in bed and before I turn in too. πŸ˜€ It also keeps me accountable πŸ˜€ haha

Reply

