Whole30: Day 14


Two whole weeks of the Whole30 program! 😀

It’s been a busy day today.  My boys have got into the habit of napping at 4 PM which means they are up at 6 PM and full of energy ready to go.  If I don’t let them nap, they turn into… let’s just say less pleasant kids to be around 😀  So my strategy for today was to take them to the park early and let them run as much as possible.  😀  Yes, they were very tired when we got home.  BUT… no sleepy! So my little one went for a nap again at 4 PM and my older didn’t even nap.  Arrhhh There’s no balance 😀

IMG_2040-0The really cool thing about the park we went to is that the city of Coquitlam has placed boxes full of toys for the kids to play with.  Free and available to everyone who’s at that park.  They’ve done this in a few parks and the parents and kids love it.  Yes, a few of the toys got stolen (rolling my eyes here) but the idea is brilliant.  You open the box, play with the toys you want, and then put them back for the next kids who come to the park.  It’s great!  My kids love it and I do too because it means less stuff to carry to the park LOL

I also tried a new recipe today and it.is.amazing!! See below 😉

Breakfast

  • 1 cup coffee with almond milk
  • Pancakes (yes, you read that right 😉 )

Here’s the recipe for the pancakes:

2 ripe bananas
4 eggs
2 tbsp almond meal
1 tsp vanilla extract
Fresh blueberries

You can skip the almond meal, vanilla, and blueberries and the pancakes will still be super delicious.  The original recipe I saw was only eggs and banana.  Then I saw one for pancakes with almond meal and eggs only.  So I kind of decided to combine the two but you can go with either one. 🙂  So mash the bananas.  Add the eggs, almond meal and vanilla.  Grease a pancake pan (I used coconut oil) and the rest is  just as any other normal pancake recipe.  You can substitute the blueberries with other fruit.  I liked the blueberries on top of the pancakes while one side was cooking.  Then I flipped them and the blueberries released their own sweetness… OHHH YUMM!!!  They were so good!  My boys loved them too.

Lunch

  • A huge salad: shredded cabbage, cherry tomatoes, a yellow bell pepper, a boiled egg, prosciutto, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, Frank’s Red Hot sauce
  • Dessert: Trail Mix + a cup of coffee with almond milk

Dinner

  • A portobello mushroom with vegetables + Trail Mix for desert

Here’s the recipe for the mushroom:

1 Portobello mushroom
2 plum tomatoes
1 zucchini
1 big leaf kale
1 red bell pepper
balsamic vinegar
olive oil
(optional) 1 tsp chilli powder, 1/2 tsp ground pepper, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, salt, dry basil (I love herbs and spices so I usually just put anything that comes to mind)

In a pan put the olive oil and balsamic vinegar and place the portobello mushroom on top.  Set it on medium heat and place a lid with a little bit of opening for the air to escape.  While the mushroom is cooking, cut your vegetable in cubes and tear the leaf of kale into smaller pieces (discard the thick stem in the middle).  When the mushroom is soft and ready, “dump” all the veggies on top of it, add more balsamic vinegar if needed, and place the lid on again.  The juices from the tomato, mushroom, zucchini, and pepper will be released and everything will cook in their own “broth”.  At this point it will smell so good that you will want to start eating it right away 😀  When the veggies are soft, it’s done.  I like my veggies a bit more crunchy so I don’t wait for them too long.  Place the mushroom on a serving plate and then pour the veggies on top together with the juices.  Voila! 🙂
PS.  Please pardon my lack of professional photographs.  I use my iPhone to take pictures and the “styling” isn’t one of my fortes LOL

7 responses to “Whole30: Day 14

  1. What a fabulous idea with the boxes of toys! And… really know that thing where you need your kids to sleep, or you know the afternoon/evening will be fraught. But you also know it’ll mean a later bed time. Lovely looking recipes… 🙂

  2. Pingback: Whole30: Day 15 | Funky Air Bear·

Reply

