Whole30: Day 15


IMG_9156I heard back from a company today about a job I had applied for and I didn’t get it.  It would have been a great opportunity for me to go back into the work world but it didn’t happen.  So the search continues.

When I think back about the interview and the questions they asked me, it reminded me about an article I read about ridiculous job interview questions.  Sometimes I even wonder how a person with a degree in HR could come up with questions like that. Throughout my career I’ve been to many interviews and there are a few questions that almost make me stand up and leave the room 😀  I have only had one interview where it was actually a productive meeting, rather than an exchange of cliche questions and answers.  And I got the job by the way and LOVED working for that company… Anyway… back to the common and redundant job interview questions: Here are some:

1. Why do you want to work for this company?
“Hmmm well… you have a job opening that I’d like to apply for?”
I mean seriously… I know nothing about your company’s culture and I have no idea if this will be a good fit. Ask me again 6 months from now when I’ve already experienced your company. But right now all I know is… you have a job opening and I am looking for a job.
2. Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
“Working at your company? I think…?”
I mean where do you see your company in 5 years? I don’t know…
3. What is your dream job?
“The one I’m applying for?”
My dream job is to work for Expedia where I get to test world class resorts all over the planet and prepare detailed reports on them… and get paid for it. But for now, I’ll settle with the job you’re offering.
4. Why should we choose you among other candidates?
“I don’t know… I’ve never met them or looked at their resumes. So I have no idea what they are capable of.” Seriously what kind of a questions is that?!?!

Sometimes I think I should just start working on my idea to start my own business (along with knitting and Etsy of course).

Oh well… not much else to report today.  🙂 So here’s my menu:

Breakfast

  • 2 cups of coffee with almond milk
  • A bowl of trail mix

Lunch

Dinner

  • Prosciutto thin slices
  • Humus (store bought)
  • Beets salad (steamed beets with vinaigrette/olive oil dressing)
  • 2 small pieces of roasted salmon

Now off to bed… zzzzzzzzz

9 responses to “Whole30: Day 15

  1. You are so right about the questions. On occasion I meet my husband for coffee at Tim’s and an amazing amount of job interviews seem to happen there ( not for Tim’s, other companies), possibly because our city is located right between Edmonton and Calgary, so a good location for meetings. All the interviews are the same when you over hear them. It is really interesting to listen to and watch, but I have no idea what they are looking for in a candidate.

    • Ahhh the interviews at Tim’s… that’s another pet peeve of mine. You are right, it is necessary sometimes when people meet between towns that’s the most convenient place to go to. And the distance between Edmonton and Calgary is definitely quite big so meeting in the middle makes sense (although not ideal) But I also see people meeting in local shops just around the corner from the office. I’ve always thought that was strange, unless you are interviewing someone without anyone else in your comapny knowing. LOL

  2. My tongue in cheek interpretation 😉

    Why do you want to work for our company = how wcell have you read our website?
    Where do you see yourself in 5 years? = We want some ideas for where we can take the dept, we’ll ask everyone to see what comes up

    What is your dream job? = what is their opinion in work life balance

    Why should we give this job to you? = who is the best actor at being enthusiastic?/ we don’t know, you tell us who we should pick

  3. I hate the “Why are you the best person for the job?” How would I know??? I don’t even know who’s applying! Maybe I’m not the best person for the job. I once answered that question honestly. Said something like I don’t know if I am, but here’s why I think I would be good at the job… I didn’t get the job and was told my answer to that question was part of the reason. I don’t regret it though. Such a ridiculous question.

Reply

