Whole30: Day 17


I was so happy a couple of weeks ago when I stocked my fridge with all the goodies that I can eat in my Whole30 program.  Everything fresh – vegetable, fruit, mushrooms, nuts, dried fruit, olive oil, coconut oil, kale, herbs and spices.  The fridge was full!  I was ready! 😀

That is great if you can actually eat everything in the next couple of days.  Which is of course impossible.  That a lot of pounds of food that I can only eat bits by bits even with the help of my family.  So you find out that too much of a thing (good or bad) can be… bad.  Why?  This beautiful fresh food starts to go bad really quickly.  I had to throw out a whole bag of carrots that I hadn’t even opened yet and they were rotten (sorry, I know it’s gross, but that’s reality 😦 )  I was so mad and I felt so guilty to be throwing all this food out.  Craziness!

So I decided: (1) I need a better plan for preserving my fresh food; (2) I need to go to the market more often and buy smaller quantities.  #2 is almost out of the question because with 2 toddlers, it’s hard to get organized to go for a walk, let alone go shopping every week.  Some things I order online – this grocery store Save-on-Foods delivers to your door the day after you place an order.  It’s perfect.  But it’s only perfect for things you know you need like milk, flour, eggs, anything that comes in a box, etc. (I don’t eat 1/2 of these things but my fiance and kids do so I still buy them).  When buying fruit and veggies, I’d rather see them and touch them than select them on a computer.  Besides, it’s always sweeter to buy these goodies at a farmers’ market where you get to meet the people who grew them, smell them, choose what you want… it’s part of the experience.

So I am left with #1.  I already freeze a lot of veggies but not everything can be frozen.  And not everything can be eaten right away.  So I need some ideas on preserving veggies and fruit.  Please do share your experience.  Thank you!

Here’s my menu for today:

Breakfast

  • 1 cup coffee with almond milk
  • Finished my trail mix stash – time to make some more

Lunch

  • Humus, tomatoes, prosciutto, beets & onion salad
  • Chocolate pudding (without the honey/maple syrup; I added 2 kiwis and 1/2 mango instead)

Everything StewDinner

Everything Stew 😀

After I went through my fridge and saw how much food was going bad or was about to go bad, I took everything out, cut it cubes and put it in the slow cooker with 4 cups of water. 😀  Here’s what’s in it:

1 Zucchini
1 Green bell pepper
1 Carrot
1 Sweet onion
1 Sweet potato
2 Leaves kale (just the leave, no stem)
3 Tomatoes (grated the inside and discarded the peel – made a tomato sauce)
1 lb Ground beef (browned with some salt ahead of time)
2 Sticks Celery
1 Clove garlic
2 tbs Chilli powder
1 tbs Dried Organo
1 tsp Turmeric
Salt
Pepper
4 cups water

Put everything in a slow cooker on high and cook for 4-6 hours.  If you wish to thicken it, mix 2 tbs coconut flour with some of the liquid from the slow cooker.  Once well mixed, pour it into the slow cooker and stir.  Continue to cook.  The reason I always add liquid from the meal into the flour (even when you use starch or wheat flour) is that the hot broth dissolves the flour better than cold water and keeps flour lumps from forming when you pour it into the pot.  😉

16 responses to “Whole30: Day 17

  1. Fabulous recipe, I’m going to make it. I too feel badly wHen veggies go bad before I can eat them. I do shop several times a week to help with food spoilage.

  2. I have the same problem with food going bad and it kills me! It doesn’t help that my toddler goes through phases with food. One week she’ll down 2 pints of blackberries in a day. The next week she won’t touch them… I spent FOREVER putting together the Week 1 Whole 30 meal plan and then my husband woke up either hungover or sick or both and it threw everything off! I had to improvise on Day FREAKIN’ 1 because he wouldn’t eat this or that and that thing won’t keep etc. Argh! We had to throw away a bunch of off plan leftovers yesterday and now we’re going to have to throw more stuff away! Sorry about that rant…

    Anyway, I don’t have much advice for you. I mostly try to plan veggies that go bad quickly (like greens or green beans) for early in the week and stuff that will keep longer (like beets, carrots) for the end of the week.

    • I hear you! It seems to be a very common problem. No need to apologize at all. I am posting a rant myself haha 😀
      I found that the blog “100 Days of Real Food” has some good ideas about preserving food – even freezing big batches of muffins for school lunches. It seems to be working quite well.
      http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/
      I have to get better at that. 🙂

  3. We just did a bulk buy of stuff dried stuff online (tinned coconut milk, almond butter etc…) but everything else we tend to buy on the day or a day or two before. This does mean it’s fresh but it’s a pain in the bottom having to be in the supermarket all the time!!! Not sure what the answer is really?! Great post though, sounds yummy 🙂

    • Thank you 🙂
      That’s also a good way to get some of the ingredients. I think I’ll start research on how to can foods. I mean freezing is quite easy lol But something’s can’t be frozen. Hm interesting 🙂

  4. Pingback: Whole30: Day 18 | Funky Air Bear·

  5. Nice post 😀
    To keep the carrots or other roots fresh it is great to have a bucket filled with clean sand and then place the roots in there, just as they are. This way keep them fresh much longer. The bucket needs to be placed where there are no sun or direct warm.

  6. I’m a bit late to the party here, but you could make your veggies into soup and freeze it in single-portion-sized containers. That way you always have a handy, healthy ready meal… And it’s a great way to reuse plastic takeaway containers or butter tubs! If you don’t have time to make stock, use a mirepoix (soup base)… Chop up a medium carrot, a medium onion, half a leek and 2 sticks of celery and sweat them in your oil of choice for about 15 minutes. Add your chosen soup ingredients and about a litre of water, bring to the boil, then simmer until everything’s cooked. Then you can blend it and add more water if it’s too thick 😀 Ta-daaaa! No more wasted veggies… Plus the boys could help you pick out the ingredients. You never know what crazy combinations they might come up with!

    • This is a fantastic idea!! Thank you! I will follow your advice and do just that. I already freeze a lot of broth. So why not soup as well. Thanks for the suggestions. I appreciate it.
      PS. You can never be too late for party! 😉 😉 😉 I’m glad you joined in.

Reply

