Whole30: Day 24


When in doubt, make soup! 😀

Today I was craving soup.  For some reason I didn’t feel like eating anything else. 😀  I had a chicken breast frozen so I decided it would be chicken soup with all the veggies I had available in the fridge.  Here’s what I did:

1 Chicken breast
3-4 sticks Celery
1 Sweet onion
3-4 Carrots
3-4 cloves Garlic
5-6 medium Potatoes
1 tbsp Dijon mustard (my secret ingredient)
Parsley, Salt & Pepper, Dry oregano. Dry Savoury, 1 Bay Leaf, 3-4 Black Peppercorns

Place the chicken breast, the bay leaf, and peppercorns in a pot of water and bring to a boil.  (if the chicken is frozen, defrost it first; the amount of water is determined by how much broth you would like to have in the soup).  Once the chicken is boiled and starts to separate from the bone (if not boneless), place on a plate and strain the broth into a big bowl or pot (leaving the bay leaf and peppercorns out).

IMG_2489In the pot where you boiled the chicken (which is now empty) place the onion, carrots, celery, and garlic (cut in cubes).  Add about 1/2 a ladle of the broth, put a lid on the pot, and summer until onion is transparent and carrots are soft. (add more of the broth if needed and make sure the veggies don’t burn).  Remember, there is no added oils in this soup – you’re using the natural fat from the chicken only.

While you are waiting for the veggies, debone the chicken breast and “tear” it apart with 2 forks so it looks like pulled chicken. 😀 Once the veggies are soft, add the potatoes, the “pulled” chicken, and another ladle of broth.  Stir so they can also get some of the vegetable juices.  Add a tablespoon of Dijon mustard and stir again until dissolved. Pour the rest of the broth in.   Add salt to your taste, parsley (cut in small pieces), a pinch or two of dry oregano, dry savoury, pepper and other spices and herbs you might like.  Bring to a boil.

Boil until the potatoes are done.  Serve immediately.  I bet you won’t be able to wait for this soup to cool down before you try it.  The flavours will fill your house and will make you hungry right away 😀  At least that’s what happened to me. 😀

Here’s my menu for today:

Breakfast

  • 1 Cup Coffee
  • Raw Vegan Cookies

Lunch (it was on the go as I took the kids hiking today)

  • Prosciutto & a boiled egg
  • Lots of trail mix 😛

Supper (or late afternoon meal)

  • A bowl of Chicken Soup (above recipe 😉 )

Dinner

  • 2 bowls of chicken soup
  • 1 big peach from the farmers’ market 😀

IMG_2499On a different note… I started experimenting with a new pattern I found.  I can’t wait to see how it turns out 😀

It’s a beautiful girl’s vest that I received an order for.  So I am practicing while waiting for the yarn to arrive, before I actually knit the real thing.

Stay tuned, I’ll post pictures. (if it turns out great of course 😉 )

4 responses to “Whole30: Day 24

Reply

