Whole30: Day 28, 29, 30


IMG_9500Wow what a week!  You are probably wondering what happened to my updates 😀 Well we had the biggest storm in Vancouver since 2006 and more than 500 000 people were left without power.  Including me!  The power went out on Friday and we got it back just last night.  Craziness!  The most problematic situation at our house was the freezer and fridge.  Nothing else really mattered as much.  The kids loved it because we spent every minute playing and cuddling (opposed to them playing and me doing laundry, ironing, cleaning, cooking, etc.)  With no power I had the perfect excuse to just sit back, relax, knit and play with my kids 😀  No power also meant no Internet, and so no updates on my blog.

I did finish the Whole30 challenge though.  My menu was quite interesting actually.  We ate out a few times and I only had some salads, plain chicken wings or fish.  It was a bit hard to keep up with the menu but I did it.  Thank God for trail mix 😀 haha

Yesterday, August 31, I had 2 croissants and 2 chocolate covered cookies as a treat after being so good throughout the month.  One thing I realized is I really don’t want to go back to eating sugars and grains.  I mean if I absolutely have to, I can have some toast but it’s not going to be the first thing I choose any more.  Also with dairy… I like milk and cheese so maybe I can have some every once in a while but not all the time like I used to.  So I am definitely making some changes and the biggest with giving up sugar and junk.

This month I have to focus on training as I have my half marathon coming up so I need to do as much as possible.  I will continue to eat whole foods and not too different from Whole30 (maybe with a few exceptions) but mostly the same way.  And see what happens 😀

I hope everyone had a great weekend.  I’ll be tuning in again soon… now the piles of laundry and vacuum cleaner are calling me 😀

27 responses to “Whole30: Day 28, 29, 30

    • We were so worried. We had just bought a freezer full of meat from a local farm – clean meat that I definitely didn’t want to see go to waste. We bought a generator and set it up 2 minutes before power came on 😀 But at least now we have it if this situation happens again.

    • Yes, this was the best part! 🙂 I actually wasn’t worried at all (except for the meat in our freezer we had just bought from a local farm). So we just went through the storm with positive attitude and laughter 😀

  1. Congratulations on finishing! 🙂 yeah we store a lot of food too, a generator is a must around here with the odd cyclone taking out power for a few days. Sounds like you made the most of it, I love your positive attitude 🙂

    • Thank you! I haven’t been able to check out your progress. I was thinking about you today. How are you feeling? How’s your Whole30 going? Sending you positive energy 🙂

      • Good… Except for I just realized yesterday that the cashews I’ve been eating have rice bran oil! I was so pissed! I’ve been SOOOOO diligent about staying 100% compliant! Aaaahhh! Not starting over though…

      • Agh!! I know what you mean. You’re right – don’t start over. Sometimes it’s better to not know about it and eat it than to stress out about what you already ate hehe 😀 I did this with a salad I had ordered a few days ago. I told them not to put any dressing except a little olive oil. They however put some other kind of vegetable oil and they only let me know after I had finished it. I was pissed too. But hey, no harm done if I didn’t know 😉 😉 😉 I think the goal is to knowingly choose the healthy option, to actually choose not to eat that donut or a bowl of rice. Otherwise it’s all good 😉
        I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better 🙂 Hugs!

      • Yeah, my husband said the same thing. I’m sure it was a very small amount too. Not like we CHOSE to eat a bowl of rice or something. Still so frustrating when you’ve been working so hard to be PERFECT. Oh well, yet another time life tries to teach me that I can’t be perfect! Ha!

  2. Glad you got your power back! I’m visiting my family in Vancouver, but luckily our power did not go out. Congratulations on completing the Whole30!

  3. Congratulations on finishing Whole30! I’ve been quite tempted by some of the meals you’ve been preparing this past month, so I’m definitely going to give them a try 😀 And I’m sure being without power for so long was hardly a party, but at the same time it’s nice to take a break from technology for a little while!

    • Thank you 🙂 Please do let me know how you like some of the dishes if you end up making them. I’m glad you find them tempting 😀 I cannot agree more with you about taking a break from technology. That was the best part of the outage. I was so glad I could just focus on what’s important – my family. It was a blessing in disguise 🙂

Reply

