Roasted Pumpkin Cake: Whole30


I had a butternut squash in my pantry that I wanted to roast but I just didn’t feel inspired enough to peel and cut it.  I wanted to eat it but I didn’t feel like preparing it. 😀

Yesterday, I decided it was time I did something about it.  I felt like having a desert and I didn’t want the squash to go bad.  So I peeled it and cut it in pieces.  I placed it in a roasting pan and put it in the oven.  I let it roast for about 45 min on 380*F just enough to make it soft but not mushy.  When I tried it I couldn’t believe how bland it was.  Sometimes you buy good pumpkins and other times they are not flavourful at all.  This one had little flavour and I didn’t feel like adding anything to it.  I wanted to keep it Whole30 compliant.  So I decided to turn it into something else.  It was a toss between pumpkin/veggie/potato soup and a cake.  My craving for a desert prevailed 😀

Here’s what I made:

Roasted Pumpkin Cake

3 eggs
2 cups coconut flour
1 cup almond meal
2 1/2 – 3 cups pureed roasted butternut squash
2-3 cups of almond milk (it’s mainly used to control consistency as the batter can get too thick)
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Blend or puree the roasted butternut squash.  If it’s too thick add almond milk.  You should be able to pour the puree out of the blender.

Preheat oven to 350*F.

In a bowl beat the eggs.  Add the coconut flour and almond meal.  Add the squash puree and stir until well mixed.  Add almond milk until you reach a cake batter consistency.  Add the vanilla, nutmeg, and cinnamon.  Mix well.  Add the baking soda and mix well again.

Grease a baking pan with coconut oil. Pour the batter and add sliced almonds on top.  Bake until a toothpick comes out clean.

Optional: Next time I will use only almond meal as the coconut flour makes the cake a bit denser than I prefer.  And also I will make some whipped coconut cream to top the cake.  Yum!

13 responses to “Roasted Pumpkin Cake: Whole30

  1. Pingback: recipe of pumpkin curry /Puli Kuzhambu(Poosanikai/Parangikai) -·

    • Yes, I do remember. When you think about it though, it doesn’t really have the all the ingredients to be a cake. Just like the quick breakfast bites (eggs, veggies, etc.) can be baked in muffin shapes but it doesn’t make them necessarily muffins. 😉 That’s my story anyway… 😀 But thanks for pointing that out.

Reply

