Canadian Thanksgiving


This post is a little late as Thanksgiving Day in Canada was two days ago.  But has been so busy after the long weekend that I haven’t had the time to sit and write.  This year we decided to have our friends and their kids over at our house for a big Thanksgiving dinner.  It was so much fun!  Everything was home made and local.  And I get to try some Pinterest ideas for decorating the house 🙂  It was as much fun preparing for the dinner as it was having it 😀

We had 9 adults and 6 kids over.  I decided to do something special for the kids and prepared individual gifts for them.  It kept them entertained and they had a take-away to enjoy at home.  I filled ice-cream cones with pretzels, added a small box of raisins and a small box of Halloween tattoos to each cone.  I put them in cellophane cone wraps and added a pumpkin bell to the metal ties.  I gave one to each kid together with a colouring book.  They loved it! 😀

I turned to Michael’s for craft supplies to create a centrepiece for our table as well as a vase with dry flowers and grass for the front entrance.  I also made a wreath for the front door, which has been on my list to do for a very long time.  Well.. ever since I saw it on Pinterest LOL 😀  It turned out great and I’m happy I decided to do it instead of just buying one at the store.  Here’s a link to the website with instructions.

One thing I was hoping to do before Thanksgiving was carve pumpkins with my kids.  But I didn’t want to give knives to a 2 and 3 year old 😀  How else would they carve the pumpkins?  So thank you, Real Simple, for the great idea of turning pumpkins into owls. 😀  Felt and glue are definitely safer for toddlers than knives.  So this is what we made.  They helped a lot and loved making Mommy, Daddy, and baby owls for the front entrance. 😀  Guess which one is me. 😀 haha

Here’s what was on the menu:

  • A whole turkey (my second one ever to roast and it turned out great)
  • A big piece of ham (from a local farm and cooked over the BBQ)
  • Cranberry sauce
  • Corn bread
  • Mashed potatoes
  • Green beans with sesame seeds
  • Beets (steamed)
  • Carrots (cooked with the turkey)
  • Gravy
  • Tossed salad
  • Baklava (I made it the day before so it soak in the syrup overnight)
  • Tres Leches Cake (brought by one of our guests)
  • Apple Pie (brought by another guest)
  • Panettone (Italian Christmas cake brought by a guest)

Everything was so delicious.  And not much leftovers which is a good sign 😀

Although on Thanksgiving Day it didn’t stop raining for a minute, the next day we were treated this gorgeous sunset.  Happy (belated) Thanksgiving, everyone!  I am thankful for so many things, but most of all for all the people in my life, including my readers.  Thank you! 🙂

20 responses to “Canadian Thanksgiving

  1. How lovely and cozy it all looked, a perfect Thanks Giving. We had ours actually in Canada as well, with our sons in Toronto. Cheers, Johanna
    ps your owly pumpkins are a hoot!

    • Thank you 🙂 Yes, it was super delicious. I even had success making the corn bread. For some reason it never turns out good for me. But this time it did 😀

Reply

