And just like that 2016 is under way


Isn’t it crazy how it’s January 6th already? I mean Christmas was yesterday! πŸ˜€

Over the holidays I gave myself a much deserved break – sleeping in, relaxing, knitting for fun without deadlines… ahhh it was a good break. I had the occasional order here and there but it was mostly relaxing. Β Good people, good food, great yarn πŸ˜‰

Now it’s time to go back to reality. Which isn’t half as bad actually LOL My son is back in preschool, my other son is still singing all the Christmas carols, and I am onto a new knitting project which I am loving so far. I started knitting a sweater for myself. With a few modifications I hope it turns out great. I am using the Flamme Mohair yarn in brown. It’s an interesting yarn to work with and a bit tricky as it alternates very thin and very thick sections. The effect is quite nice once it’s knitted but it could be tricky trying not to drop stitches. Also it makes it a bit difficult to calculate gauge. But so far so good. I’m working on the front of the sweater and then I’ll move onto the sleeves. Once I’m done I’ll post some pictures with the pattern I used. Check out my progress below…

Yesterday I made something super simple and very delicious. I felt like having vegetables but I also wanted something warm. So I sliced a yellow and an orange bell pepper in thin strips. I added a couple of stalks of celery also thinly sliced. Mixed everything into a skillet and added a pinch of cayenne pepper, turmeric, salt, pepper, dry oregano, olive oil, and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar. I brought everything to a sizzle and let it cook for 5-7 minutes. I like the veggies warm but crunchy so I didn’t want to completely soften them. When everything was ready, I placed in a bowl and sprinkled sesame seeds. It was so good!

I think I’m going to make this dish again today. I can’t stop thinking about it πŸ˜€

This morning I was bring my son to preschool and I could see that the sun was coming out. It was a cold crispy morning with a bit of a rain drizzle but it looked like it was going to be a beautiful day. I dropped him off and headed back home. Looking in the direction of our house, I saw this gorgeous rainbow over the mountain. It was such a pleasant surprise. Right there in the middle of winter, we had a beautiful rainbow above us to make the day even better. Hey January isn’t so bad after all… πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€

Have a fantastic day, everyone! ❀

24 responses to “And just like that 2016 is under way

  1. Knitting a sweater, you are a brave woman! I’m still to tackle that challenge πŸ™‚

    I too had a rainbow over here in London. The days are already growing, so that makes me very happy that it’s January and not December – plus, it was my birthday a few days ago, so I have to swear it’s a great month!

    • HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! πŸ˜€
      You’re right about the days getting longer. It’s amazing when just an hour longer makes such a difference. Especially on people’s moods. πŸ™‚
      I’ve been working up the courage to knit a sweater that isn’t a one-piece pattern lol So I’m quite excited and I hope it still looks like a sweater when it’s done haha πŸ˜€
      Have a great day!

  2. Happy 2016 neighbour (well, near enough)! So true, where did the time go. We did your Van polar bear swim in english bay on NYD! Love the yarn. I’m with zeta,can’t wait to see the sweater~cheers

  3. I am so jealous of that rainbow. Seems I always just miss them here. I can recall seeing 2 in my lifetime. Sad, very sad. Your rainbow is magnificent! So glad you got to see it and capture on camera to share. Love your sweater! It looks like it will be so soft and comfy cozy. I look forward to seeing more.

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ I love rainbows. It’s amazing what mother Nature can do. πŸ™‚ I am almost done with the front of my sweater so I’ll be able to start the sleeves soon. I can’t wait to see it done. I have been so busy these days that I haven’t had a chance to just sit and knit πŸ˜€

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚
      Yes, the ripple effect is really nice and it’s the yarn. It alternates very thin and very thick sections so when you knit it, it comes out like this. πŸ™‚
      I hope you like the veggies πŸ™‚

Reply

