Happy Mother’s Day!


What a great weekend it has been so far. It’s been fun and productive.

On Friday, I managed to go do my hair. Imagine that! 😀 It’s hard to schedule a hair appointment when you have 2 toddlers. So finally I got it done. I also finished a project that was a year in the making. I started it last year by buying everything necessary. My dad helped me prepare the wood and that was it. I didn’t do anything about it until now. I am referring to a tent that I saw on Pinterest and decided to make it for my boys. I modified the requirements a little. I had to make it bigger so there was enough space for 2 kids who don’t like sitting in one place for too long. Here’s what I used:

  • appr. 15 ft. Fabric (I used outdoors water resistant fabric from Fabricland)
  • 4 1″x4″x6′ whitewood moulding
  • 3 2″diameter and 6′ long dowels
  • A drill with a 2″ drill bit
  • A sewing machine

As you can see I almost doubled the recommendations from the original project. I needed it to be bigger. The directions are the same as the original post. I used about 12.5′ of the fabric I bought. The rest I used to make the bag. I also wanted the bag to be wider than the original project so I don’t have to struggle to stuff the tent inside 😀 This is one of my camping pet-peeves – putting away a tent into a bag that seemed big enough at the store but somehow shrunk after the tent was used. 😀 😀 😀

Needless to say… my kids LOVED it! They’ve spent three days refusing to come inside the house. They even asked to sleep in the tent overnight 😀 I would have said yes if it wasn’t for the bears and cougars in the area.

Then on Saturday my husband surprised me with tickets to the Whitecaps soccer game with the Portland Timbers. Whoohoo!!! Perfect Mother’s Day gift. I went with a friend of mine while he stayed home with the kid. We had a blast. I was so thankful for the much needed break. AND the Whitecaps won, which made the experience even better 😀

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY to all the awesome moms! 🙂

15 responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!

Reply

