Relax! It’s just my yarn stash!


corrugated_stackWhat’s the big deal with having a yarn stash?!

Only a knitter/crocheter would understand another knitter/crocheter. I’ve had many conversations with non-knitters about why I need more yarn, a different colour yarn, a different weight yarn, a different size needles, a different pattern, etc. I have had to explain the basics of knitting so many times that I feel like a broken record – no, super bulky yarn isn’t ideal for knitting a newborn baby hat; lace looks beautiful but it isn’t ideal for knitting slippers; just because I have size 3 needles doesn’t mean I can use them to knit all weights of yarn… and it goes on and on.

Same goes for how much yarn knitters have. What is wrong with having yarn? I mean people collect all kinds of things and usually are proud of their collections. So why the guilt every knitter feels when someone mentions their yarn “stash”?! (I don’t even like this word to describe my yarn collection). You don’t walk into a computer programmer’s house and ask: “Why on earth do you need that many computers?”. They will be equally annoyed by the question as you would be when someone asks you why you couldn’t use the yarn you already have before purchasing more.

When it comes to my yarn collection, I divide it into two sections – specialty yarns and every-day yarns. The specialty yarns are the ones I collect and keep for a long time before I decide what to make with them. The every-day yarns are the ones I know I can find in pretty much every big craft store and are always available at a lower price. These are my yarns for quick projects such as a coffee-mug cozies, dishcloths, quick wrist warmers, headbands, craft projects, etc. These are the yarns that I finish quickly and replenish often.

My specialty yarns have a different story. I have had yarns that sat in my boxes for years before I found the perfect pattern for them. They were expensive high-quality yarns that you don’t just waste on fixing a hole in a sock. These are yarns that make a statement and as such they deserve the proper treatment. The amount of work that goes into a beautiful knitted piece is enormous. So when you make it, you want to have it for a long time. That is why the yarn you work with matters so much.

Bottom line… never feel guilty about your yarn collection and never apologize about expanding it. You are a yarn lover and you know what you want and need. After all, have you every heard another yarn lover ask you why on earth you have so much yarn? Neither have I. 😉

34 responses to “Relax! It’s just my yarn stash!

  1. I’m of two minds on this, I admit. I’m all for having a yarn stash, but when you could open your own yarn store… I have to wonder why you have quite that much yarn 😉 It just becomes a little too daunting, in my opinion.
    On the other hand, I do feel guilty about adding yarn to my stash (which isn’t all that big, all things considered), but that has more to do with our budget than anything else.

    • Excellent points. I agree about the budget. I feel guilty about that too.
      What I don’t like is when people who aren’t knitters judge knitters for buying more yarn. And I am talking about active knitters who don’t just hoard yarn for no reason. I am talking about knitters who buy yarn and then actively search for the perfect pattern for it. Sometimes it takes a year before you find your perfect pattern. But the idea is that you do knit something with it eventually. And wear it, or give it as a gift.

  2. I agree with you 100%! Many people collect different things, so why is collecting yarn any different? My fiance collects blu-rays, I collect yarn and we’re equally happy. I do have a budget and space issues regarding my yarn collection, but that gives me motivation to use up the yarn that I already have, so I can purchase more. I never feel guilty! Great post 🙂

    • That’s exactly how I feel about collecting yarn and the motivation to knit. I feel that my creativity and ideas are richer because I have more options at hand I can choose from.

  3. I love this. So get how you feel. I have some yearn the same way. My editor got me some yarn from Scotland on his cruise one year, I made a scarf for me and saved the rest.

  4. My family teases about my stash, but they know if they want or need something I’ll get it made! My friends, though, I’m sure they’d stage an intervention if the ever saw what’s stored in the bedroom.

  5. This is an amazing post. It describes me so much. I have also got the (much) more expensive yarns, for those very special projects, and the more ordinary yarns, for exactly the same purpose. It just makes so much sense, now even more,when I know I’m not the only one that sees her stash / collection in the same light.
    As for needles, I do not think I will ever have enough or to many. You see, the thing with needles are, they keep bringing out new designs or colours, etc. and I just add them. I have needles that belonged to my Mom, and I just asked for needles from Germany, as my daughter was visiting Berlin, and I could not get these needles here. 🙂 What can I say, I love pretty yarn and pretty needles.

    • That’s fantastic. Now I know I’m not the only one 👍👍 Thank you for commenting and for saying such nice things. I couldn’t agree more about the needles. Needles are precious tools and as you say, sometimes stay in the family and go from generation to generation. They are a symbol of the legacy our mothers and grandmothers left for us. And hopefully we can leave for our kids. My mom has needles from my grandma too. And I love it. What an amazing gift to pass on. Good for you for appreciating these incredible tools of creativity. ❤️❤️😘

  6. My mum and I love knitting. She gives me her yarn on and off ; then she can keep adding her yarn collection. I try to finish off her yarn before I add my own collection, but it seems long way to go🙄

    • That’s a perfect example of the power of a yarn collection. It’s meant to be shared. Your mom is a generous person 😊
      As for building your own collection… it takes time so don’t worry. Just keep knitting 😊 👍

  7. I’m with you on this one. I doubt I will ever use up all my yarn, yet I still add to it, I just love yarn. These days I do try to talk myself out of acquiring more until I have used some of the yarn I already have!

  8. what a nice post to read on this morning. I couldn’t agree more (even though I was just worrying–if only a little–about all of the yarn in my own collection). Collection is the word of choice! 🙂

    • It is, isn’t it? 😊 “Stash” sounds like I’m dealing drugs haha 😂
      Thank you for reading my post and for the lovely comment 😊 Enjoy the rest of your day ☺️

  9. I don’t think it’s any different than a repairman’s tool collection, a fisherman’s collection of rods and tackle, etc. We all have bits and pieces of everything we do living around us. What’s another bit or piece going to harm? Absolutely nothing. It merely adds to our selection of tools to use!

  10. I couldn’t have said it better and as long as I can afford to, I will continue to buy more yarn (some of it I will use one day!!)

    • I’m the same way especially when they have some sweet deals ☺️ But eventually I always find projects for the yarn. It may take me a few years but I do lol 😂

    • Yes, stash grows quickly especially when you try to hide it haha Out of sight, out of mind 😀 I’ve hidden yarn in so many places that when I started packing to move I was amazed at the huge boxes I filled with yarn haha
      I try to always keep my yarn in a dark dry place. I try to avoid putting it in plastic bags because they can accumulate moisture. Depending on the yarn I might squish it a bit to make it easier to fit into a box. But otherwise I keep it as it is without pressing on it too much. I’d say cardboard boxes are a good way to store it. 🙂

Reply

