New beginnings


I started a real garden this year… finally! I’ve been meaning to do so pretty much every year since we moved to a house. And now finally it’s becoming a reality.

I bought some organic non-GMO seeds from a local company called West Coast Seeds, I got some organic vegetable mix soil from another local company called Eco-Soil, and I also added some seeds that my mom brought from Bulgaria for me that she created from her own garden. Well 7 days after I sowed the seeds, we have a showing of lettuce and kale. YEY!!!! πŸ˜€ I am so super excited I can’t stop looking at them and compare how much they have grown every hour haha My kids are excited too and keep asking me when we are going to make a salad. HAHA

So the rest of the seeds I sowed were: yellow cherry tomatoes, red cherry tomatoes, red robin tomatoes, leeks. Later I will sow 2 types of carrots, 2 types of peppers, pickling cucumbers. πŸ™‚

 
Another super exciting thing that happened a couple of weeks ago was my childhood friend that I grew up with and was practically inseparable until we graduated high school, came to Vancouver on a business trip and we reconnected. We realized that we hadn’t seen each other for 20 years!!! How crazy is this?!? It was like we never missed a beat. She now has a little girl and I really wanted to give her a special gift. So I made her some amigurumi toys to play with (Patterns by HappyBerryCrochet). She loved them! It doesn’t get more personal than this πŸ™‚

Patterns by HappyBerryCrochet


So of course my son wanted an amigurumi toy and he asked for an airplane. He even chose the colours 😁 I got to work right away. He loved it!


Something else I’ve been working on is my yarn shop. Some exciting news coming up in the next few weeks. One thing I can say for sure is that I am in love with the Sugar Bush Yarns. They have such a soft luxury feel to them at a reasonable price. And the company is Canadian which adds to the package. They are fantastic to work with. They make the best most huggable yarns I’ve ever seen πŸ˜€ Pictures just don’t do it justice. Incredible quality! Just take a look at these chunky skeins of goodness.

24 responses to “New beginnings

  1. The plane is so cute! And the other toys too! Good for you with the garden. I would love to start one but I really don’t have a spot that gets enough sunlight that is also not where the dogs like to run around. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you πŸ™‚
      Yes, it’s important to have a well-lit undisturbed place :))) My basement is perfect for this because it’s unfinished we don’t really use it too much. πŸ™‚

  2. Your seeds look good. I have not yet started my seeds. I will be starting peppers. I also have serveral kinds of flowers to start. I will have to get busy once the snow stops flying to get new beds ready for them.

    • Thank you. I’ll be starting peppers too. I can’t wait.
      Speaking of flowers… my mom had brought me lots of seeds for flowers and I’m planning on sowing them today 😊

  3. Well done, especially on the gardening front, it is so rewarding isn’t it? I too love gardening.

    • Aw thank you πŸ™‚ Yes, you’re right. It’s incredible how the connection with someone is so strong that it comes back to you as soon as you see the person. πŸ™‚

Reply

