Whole wheat goodness


I like to bake some fresh muffins for my boys for when they wake up in the morning or after their afternoon nap.  My older son knows that there is always something under the glass “dome” of my cake stand and he points at it asking for a snack.  My little one is too little to understand where the snacks are kept but he smiles and opens his mouth for more when I give him a piece of freshly baked soft muffin. 🙂  The other day I bought some silicone muffin cups from IKEA and I couldn’t wait to try them.  They are great!  The muffins came out so easily and the shape was really nice.

The recipe I usually use (inspired by the Whole Wheat Carrot Apple Sauce Muffins by 100 Days of Real Food) is great and has no refined sugar in it which I always prefer especially when baking for kids.  The other day, however, I didn’t have a couple of the ingredients (eggs & butter) so I decided to improvise with what I had in the fridge and pantry.  I substituted the egg with a medium ripe banana from the freezer and I used coconut oil instead of butter.  The result was divine!  So so good!  Here’s the recipe I came up with:

Whole Wheat Apple Sauce No Dairy Muffins

Serving: 12

1.5 cups whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 cup coconut oil (room temperature)
1/2 cup honey (less or more depending on your preference)
1 medium banana (very ripe from freezer, softened and mashed)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup unsweetened apple sauce
Optional: coconuts shreds, quick oats to sprinkle on top

Directions:
1: Preheat oven to 350F. Oil the muffin baking pan or use paper/silicone cups
2: In a medium bowl mix together the flour, soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt.
3: In a separate bowl mix coconut oil, honey, banana, vanilla. Mix with a whisk by hand or use a mixer on low.
4: Once the wet ingredients are well mixed, start adding the flour mixture slowly until it is all incorporated and thick.
5: Fold in the applesauce
6: Fill the muffin cups 3/4 full
Optional: sprinkle with shredded coconut and oats.
7: Bake for about 30 min or until a toothpick comes out clean.

2 responses to “Whole wheat goodness

Reply

